Slides for my 2011 Red Hat Summit presentation

I gave a talk at this year’s Red Hat Summit on IcedTea/OpenJDK and on some of the upcoming new features in Java 7 and 8. The title was “Java – From OpenJDK to Red Hat Enterprise Linux and What Lies Ahead”.

The slides are available on-line here.

As mentioned on slide 3 there, the slides were designed to be used in an audio-heavy presentation (with less text, more images). For guidance, they have draft quality notes at the end.

About dbhole

I have been a member of the Java Group at Red Hat since mid-2008. I started off as an engineer and in late 2012, I switched to the dark side, a.k.a management :) I now manage all the members in the Java Group and some members from the QE team dedicated to JDK/component related QE.
This entry was posted in IcedTea, Java. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slides for my 2011 Red Hat Summit presentation

  1. Adam says:

    Bravo. I’d wondered about IcedTea References for a while. Thanks for laying it out. I missed your talk at the Summit (had booth duty) but would have loved to chat with you.

    I’ve often said that one of the biggest mistakes in Java was not having named Parameters for methods. If we could construct a constructor call from a dictionary, we’d have a much more powerful expressive way of doing inversion of control and object creation. Any thoughts as to whether the Java 8 or later councils would look favorably on that idea?

  2. Adam says:

    Took me a while to figure out that I said it wrong: not named parameters for calling, likein the above proposal, but just in the Metadata. Specifically, The parameter object from Class.method or Class.constructor, should have the name of the parameter. I wrote up my thoughts on it a while ago:

    http://adam.younglogic.com/2010/02/my-two-main-problems-with-java-rant/

    The short of it is that I want them for constructors. If I know a constructor takes “firstname=x,lastname=y,uid=z” I should be able to figure out which parameter is which, and not have to depend on order. An inversion of control container could potentially user the uid of the current user to fetch a user object and then populate the constructor for an object that takes these three parameters.

Leave a Reply

