IcedTea 1.8 released (with new NP plugin)!

IcedTea 1.8 is now out. It officially replaces the old IcedTea Plugin with the new NPRuntime based plugin.

A significant number of fixes went in since the NP plugin version in 1.7. Some of the biggest ones are:

  • Memory on C++ side is all correctly managed now
  • Speed has been improved over previous version
  • An arbitrary number applets can initialize in parallel without causing a spike in thread count
  • Support for /home on AFS and others filesystems that don’t support FIFO pipes
  • Support for Chromium and Firefox running *at the same time*

If you had been apprehensive about trying it out because it wasn’t finalized before, give it a try now!

About dbhole

I have been a member of the Java Group at Red Hat since mid-2008. I started off as an engineer and in late 2012, I switched to the dark side, a.k.a management :) I now manage all the members in the Java Group and some members from the QE team dedicated to JDK/component related QE.
This entry was posted in IcedTea. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to IcedTea 1.8 released (with new NP plugin)!

  1. How does a Fedora 12 user get their hands on this? Does this mean I can finally revert back to an open source Java solution for Firefox 3.6? Thanks.

    • dbhole says:

      Hi Jon. We intend to update Fedora 12 in a few weeks after it has had some exposure in rawhide. In the mean time, you can try out rawhide packages. We are working on them now. I will add a reply here once it is done.

  2. Xavier says:

    Hi Deepak,

    I’ve been looking around for documentation on the actual use of IcedTea. I know it’s a bit of a do-it-yourself. Specifically I was trying to find out how to debug Java applets in IcedTea.

    Finally I found my own solution by watching the java.stdout and java.stderr after I found that IcedTea has created a personal directory called $HOME/.icedteaplugin (I should have known).

    It was also the location of storage for cached applets which proved useful as I needed to remove a few for debugging purposes.

    If someone is working on documentation perhaps I could offer a few bits of text.

    Cheers

    • dbhole says:

      Hi Xavier. I realize this is a very late reply.. yours and another message slipped under my radar and I only now noticed it again. Sorry about that😦

      There is no such documentation atm. Please feel free to submit any though🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    I’ve always wanted to try IcedTea as I am a fan of open-source for all my applications if possible.
    I use Pardus 2011 and it comes with
    “java version “1.6.0_22″
    Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_22-b04)
    Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 17.1-b03, mixed mode)”
    I’ve looked over the build requirements for IcedTea and would like to install Netbeans 6.1, but am confused as to which package bundle to download. I’m using dial up, so I wanted to install smallest Netbeans package required for IcedTea.
    Thanks!
    Lisa

    • dbhole says:

      Hi Lisa. I realize this is a late reply.. yours and another message slipped under my radar and I only now noticed it again. Sorry about that😦

      Unfortunately I am not familiar with Pardus and am unable to locate necessary information on it. However IcedTea no longer requires NetBeans. The older versions needed it only if visual vm was enabled, which was not the default.

Leave a Reply

